University of Nottingham Ningbo (UNNC)


Lead of Task 2.3; Co-Lead of WP1, Task 1.2; Contributor to Tasks 1.1, 2.1, 3.1, 3.2, 4.1 and 4.2

Short description of the organisation

Described by the Times Good University Guide 2013 as ‘the nearest Britain has to a truly global university’, the University of Nottingham has award-winning campuses in the UK, China and Malaysia and hosts a global academic community in all three countries. UNNC was the first Sino-foreign university established in China with the full support of the Chinese Ministry of Education. UNNC supports a thriving research environment and has been awarded funding from Chinese and international agencies. There are also significant knowledge exchange initiatives with academics working closely with companies such as Wahaha (杭州娃哈哈集团有限公司), the New Hope Group (新希望集团有限公司) and the Ningbo Academy of Smart City Development (宁波市智慧城市规划标准研究院). Subsequently, UNNC is an ideal partner to support EU-China research collaborations due to our extensive knowledge and practical experiences of developing international research agendas as a UK university based within mainland China.


Dr Odette PARAMOR has worked as an associate professor at the first two Sino-foreign universities in China since 2009 and has a clear understanding of the challenges facing international researchers trying to engage in research in China. She also has significant experience of working on European projects. Prior to moving to China, she spent nearly ten years managing three European projects as the co-ordinating partner and has been involved with the evaluation of EU projects since 2003. Her primary research area is in the marine sciences, particularly developing the science to support ecosystem approaches to management, but she has much broader interests in environmental sciences in a China context. She is an elected member of the China Association for Science and Technology (UNNC Branch), the elected UNNC academic representative on University Senate and she chairs the UNNC Women in Science and Technology (WinSET) Committee.